شان وو

حشائش برية

2021

نظرة عامة:

SHAN WU (كاتب ومخرج ومنتج) هو صانع أفلام تايواني مستقل ومقيم في لوس أنجلوس وفنان متعدد التخصصات. حصل نصها Wild Grass على جائزة Tim Disney للتميز في سرد القصص. تم اختيار فيلمها Lookover لمهرجان Formosa للمخرجين الدوليين ومهرجان Supernova للرسوم المتحركة الرقمية ومهرجان CINMARE الدولي لأفلام المحيط. فازت أعمالها التركيبية بالفيديو باردو بالميدالية البرونزية في المعرض الوطني للفنون في نيو ميديا آرت في عام 2018 وتم عرضها في متحف تايوان الوطني. في عام 2017 ، تعاونت مع متحف سانتا بولا للفنون في مشروع خاص بالموقع يسمى جدارية ، والذي تم عرضه على واجهة مركز كول للإبداع. هي إحدى مؤسسي نادي الفيديو التايواني ، وهو عرض تعاوني للأفلام التايوانية ، وعملت كمبرمج أول في مهرجان لوس أنجلوس السينمائي الصيني في عام 2019. شان تخرجت من معهد كاليفورنيا للفنون للسينما والفيديو برنامج الوسائط المتكاملة.

الخلاصة:

رحلة امرأة تايوانية إلى أمريكا تكشف خيالها عن الحب وهوية متشابكة مع الجمال والجنس والجنسية ولغتين. من خلال مواجهة البطل لصورتها الخاصة وفشلها في التواصل ، تروي WILD GRASS قصة حب غير عادية خادعة لكنها كاشفة.

لم نسمع أبدًا من المرأة التي تظهر على الشاشة ولا الراوي.  نظرًا لأن الارتباط وعدم التطابق بين الصورة والنص أصبح أكثر استقرارًا ، فإن صحة كل من الصورة والكلمات تصبح موضع شك. يتجلى صراع المرأة مع نفسها الداخلية وهي تجري مرارًا وتكرارًا في مشهد خيالي - حيث تتراكم ذكرياتها عن الماء والصوت من تايوان فوق العشب البري الأصفر.

SHAN WU

WILD GRASS

2021

OVERVIEW :

SHAN WU (Writer, Director, and Producer) is a Los Angeles-based Taiwanese independent filmmaker and multi-disciplinary artist. Her script Wild Grass won the Tim Disney Prize for Excellence in Storytelling. Her film Lookover was selected for Formosa Festival of International Filmmaker, Supernova Digital Animation Festival, and CINMARE International Ocean Film Festival. Her video installation work Bardo won the Bronze Medal at the National Art Exhibition in New Media Art in 2018 and was shown in the National Taiwan Museum. In 2017, she collaborated with Santa Paula Art Museum on a site-specific project called Mural, which was projected on the facade of the Cole Creativity Center. She is one of the founders of Taiwan Video Club, a collaborative screening of Taiwanese films, and served as a Senior Programmer at the Los Angeles Chinese Film Festival in 2019. Shan is a graduate from the California Institute of the Arts' Film and Video and Integrated Media Program.

SYNOPSIS :

A Taiwanese woman’s journey to America reveals her fantasy of love and an identity entangled with beauty, sexuality, nationality and two languages. Through the protagonist confronting her own image and her failure at communicating, WILD GRASS tells an unusual love story that is deceptive yet revealing.

We never hear from the woman on the screen nor the narrator.  As the correlation and mismatch between the image and the text become more unstable, the veracity of both the image and words comes into question. The woman’s struggle with her inner self plays out as she runs over and over again in an imaginary landscape— where her memory of water and sound from Taiwan is laid over yellow wild grass.