山武

野草

2021

概述:

吴珊(作家、导演、制片人)是一位居住在洛杉矶的台湾独立电影制作人和跨领域艺术家。她的剧本《野草》获得了蒂姆·迪斯尼优秀讲故事奖。她的电影《Lookover》入选台湾国际电影节、超新星数字动画节、CINMARE 国际海洋电影节。影像装置作品《中阴》获2018年全国新媒体艺术美展铜奖,并在国立台湾博物馆展出。 2017 年,她与圣保拉艺术博物馆合作开展了名为“壁画”的场地特定项目,该项目被投影在科尔创意中心的立面上。她是台湾电影合作放映的台湾影音俱乐部的创始人之一,并在2019年担任洛杉矶华语电影节的高级程序员。单毕业于加州艺术学院电影与视频学院,综合媒体计划。

概要:

一位台湾女性的美国之旅揭示了她对爱情的幻想以及与美丽、性、国籍和两种语言纠缠在一起的身份。通过主人公直面自己的形象和沟通失败,野草讲述了一个不寻常的爱情故事,虽然具有欺骗性,但也能透露出真相。

我们从来没有听到屏幕上的女人和叙述者的声音。 随着图像和文字之间的相关性和不匹配变得越来越不稳定,图像和文字的真实性都受到质疑。当她在想象中的风景中一遍又一遍地奔跑时,她与内心自我的斗争上演了——她对来自台湾的水和声音的记忆被铺在黄色的野草上。

SHAN WU

WILD GRASS

2021

OVERVIEW :

SHAN WU (Writer, Director, and Producer) is a Los Angeles-based Taiwanese independent filmmaker and multi-disciplinary artist. Her script Wild Grass won the Tim Disney Prize for Excellence in Storytelling. Her film Lookover was selected for Formosa Festival of International Filmmaker, Supernova Digital Animation Festival, and CINMARE International Ocean Film Festival. Her video installation work Bardo won the Bronze Medal at the National Art Exhibition in New Media Art in 2018 and was shown in the National Taiwan Museum. In 2017, she collaborated with Santa Paula Art Museum on a site-specific project called Mural, which was projected on the facade of the Cole Creativity Center. She is one of the founders of Taiwan Video Club, a collaborative screening of Taiwanese films, and served as a Senior Programmer at the Los Angeles Chinese Film Festival in 2019. Shan is a graduate from the California Institute of the Arts' Film and Video and Integrated Media Program.

SYNOPSIS :

A Taiwanese woman’s journey to America reveals her fantasy of love and an identity entangled with beauty, sexuality, nationality and two languages. Through the protagonist confronting her own image and her failure at communicating, WILD GRASS tells an unusual love story that is deceptive yet revealing.

We never hear from the woman on the screen nor the narrator.  As the correlation and mismatch between the image and the text become more unstable, the veracity of both the image and words comes into question. The woman’s struggle with her inner self plays out as she runs over and over again in an imaginary landscape— where her memory of water and sound from Taiwan is laid over yellow wild grass.